Well that’s over with.

I got through my presentation today. It did not go very well, but I got through it. I had been allotted 20 minutes, but I was so nervous I burned though all of it in about 11. It was pretty intimidating standing up in front of 60 folks with Masters and Ph.D.s in my field and try to tell them stuff. Though after I saw one of them pick his nose and eat it I felt a little less daunted. I answered a few questions after the presentations, but they were the kind of questions that just demonstrated that I hadn’t been very clear initially. I got a few, “Good job up there”s from folks as I was leaving, but I could tell they were more of an acknowledgment that it had been tough. Oh well, live and learn.

So, now that my ANS stay has come to an end I think I’ll close with a few notes about the hotel: the Hyatt Regency here in downtown Atlanta.

First off, the lobby is very impressive, as I had read. It goes straight up 23 floors. Very cinematic.

The room was nice, with a big TV and comfy bed.

The barsoap smells like Pepto-Bismol. This is weird.

The towels smell like graham crackers. Also weird, though kind of nice.

Finally, internet access is $13 a day. This is complete horseshit. If you stay at a LaQuinta Inn in Shamrock, TX you get free wireless access. Why not in a four star hotel? Plus, the connection sucks. I paid for the “business” connection which was supposed to give me free reign of the facilities “high speed”, but try to video chat with Skype or play Team Fortress 2 online and everything grinds to a halt and sulks in the corner.

Note: I don’t actually know if there’s a LaQuinta Inn in Shamrock, TX, I just picked a little town on I-40 off of Google maps.

2 comments

  1. I’m proud of you! It takes some guts to get up there and talk to a crowd of people. Especially when they’re very knowledgeable people in your field.

    P.S. How could you not laugh when you saw the guy pick his nose? I hope you totally stared him down with a “I know what you just dug out of your nose and put in your mouth” look.

  2. I second Amy’s comment! First good job and such and second–really, an adult, PHD nosepicker? Perhaps Evie has a future in nasal excavation after all.

Leave a Reply

