Eeeeep.

It’s been quite a while since I updated. Sorry about that.

After riding around Albuquerque I had one more week of work at Sandia, then drove back to Texas, bypassing Austin, and arrived in College Station late on the 6th. The next couple of days saw lots of boxing, packing, shifting, hauling, and other general moving related verbs. At last, Amy was into her new apartment. It’s a pretty cool place, and I know she was super excited to have two large closets all to herself.

After that, I headed to Austin. It was really good to see everyone, and my room was pretty much exactly as I’d left it.

But after a few days stay, it was time to pick up Amy, hop on an airplane, and fly up to Kansas. We met my mom at KCI and picked up a rental car. I’d been hoping for a Ford Fusion or Chevy Malibu, but we got stuck with an unholy piece of shit Dodge Journey. I also got a speeding ticket about 10 minutes away from the airport in Missouri. I hate that car.

Anyway, the stay in Kansas was awesome. We got to see Miriah and Russ’s new house (which is fantastic, it even has an actual secret room!) We also saw a lot of the family on both my Mom and Dad’s side which was a lot of fun. And finally, after keeping us all in suspense, we got to meet baby Bea on Monday. Amy and I had fun taking care of Everett prior to her arrival. He didn’t seem too excited about his new sister, but I’m sure the two of them are going to hit it off eventually. Two beautiful little kids, I’m proud to be their uncle.

Alas, the time in Kansas quickly came to an end, and Amy and I headed back to Texas. We had a couple more days together, hiked around Brazos Bend state park, and enjoyed the last lazy days of summer. Once back in Austin, I helped prepare for Maldon IV, which turned out to be a house party of epic success and failure that has already been recounted elsewhere on the web far better than I can think to.

In about an hour I’ll have my first meeting of the semester with my advisor, Dr. Schneider, hopefully I can get back on track to get my MS by December. All in all, it looks like it’s going to be a very difficult semester, but that’s pretty much par for the course at this point.

Gus sends his love.

One comment

  1. It was wonderful to see you! I am so very glad you were here for the princess’s debut. She is currently living up to her name (look up the meaning some time) Take care of yourself and give me a call when you have a minute.

Leave a Reply

