I’m a Really Lucky Guy

Fall semester ’09 is officially under way. I’ve been to the first meeting of both my classes, as well as the first meeting with my major professor and research group. My Nuclear Safety and Security class should be interesting, I haven’t really had many classes in that area of the industry so at least a lot of it will be new. My design class is going to be a semester long project in a team with some other grad students, most of whom I’ve worked with before. So that should be good.

And Dr. Schneider thinks I should be able to write up my MS thesis (quasi-paper option) and get started on my doctoral topic before the end of the semester. So that would be awesome. 🙂

This past weekend I drove to Angleton to go with Amy to one of her high school friend’s weddings, and also meet some of her good friends from home and high school. Overall it was a good time. Early Sunday we drove back up to College Station, as Amy’s semester started today. From all I hear, that has gone well. I shall return to College Station at the end of the week to go to the first A&M game vs. New Mexico. I hope we win this one, otherwise it’s going to be a long cold season. I also hope I make progress at getting to know Amy’s Dad and brother. We’re all kind of quiet and reserved types, so it’s been slow going for the past year and a half. *fingerscrossed*

Finally, upon arriving back in Austin this morning, I found a package addressed to me waiting on the doorstep. The coming of this package had been foretold in a call from my Oma, but I was unprepared for what was inside the box. An absolutely beautiful quilt made by my Tante Jon. Here’s a few pictures:

Yeah, I was stunned when I took the quilt out. I don’t know much about quilting, but I can only imagine how much skill it must take to make something like this. I feel very special to have it. 😀

One comment

  1. I love that it looks like an Escher tessalation. Hope your Labor Day was fun–we had a really lovely Sunday afternoon. Looking forward to relaxing today. XOXOX.

Leave a Reply

