While I was riding back from work earlier this week I hit a branch. Normally I would try to avoid this event, but the branch was large and green, covered in vines, and took up most of the shoulder on the bridge I was riding across. Since I was on a bridge, I couldn’t exactly swerve around it, and traffic being some what heavy, I couldn’t swerve out into the traveling lanes.

So I hit my brakes and tried to go as directly over it as possible, to avoid losing control and being hit by a Volvo. As expected the branch got wrapped around my crank and wheels and I had to coast to the end of the bridge where I could hop off and remove it. Luckily there was no damage, and I was able to continue on back to the house.

Unluckily, it appears that some of those vines that I mentioned earlier were of the poisonous, itchy variety; and I now have a couple red bumpy patches on both my right calf and my left thigh.

Bummer.

2 comments

  1. Hmmm, branch on a bridge…either the water course it crosses is not that wide and said branch broke off and landed on the shoulder or it fell off of a truck/trailer that was filled with yard waste. This yard waste was composed of itch causing vines that seek out bicyclers on their commutes. The mutations have begun…run for the hills.

Leave a Reply

