I’ll huff and I’ll puff

So I’ve been working out for the past 3 months.

I’ve been exercising pretty regularly since I was about 15 or 16, mostly at home, push ups, pull ups, dumbbell stuff. I did it because it felt good and I liked being strong.

Well, I can say I didn’t know what the hell I was doing until very recently. Seriously, I literally want to kick myself for not getting into a gym back when I was 18 and just starting at A&M. If only someone had handed me a copy of “Starting Strength” then, 7 years ago.

I recommend it for anyone, regardless of gender, age, strength level.

No. 1: Learn how to squat (not on a Smith machine, in a squat cage).

No. 2: Learn how to bench press (not on a Smith machine, on a flat bench).

No. 3: Learn how to dead lift (not on a Smith machine, with a barbell on the floor, as God intended).

No. 4: Learn how to overhead press (get away from that damn Smith machine).

That’s all you need and you will feel awesome! I’m not trying to shill here, but that book, and those lifts are fantastic.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________

Speaking of shilling, I had this conversation with Amy a while back, but I’ll share it here.

I think, for a wide range of commercials, you can predict what they’re selling you based on what kind of man is in the commercial. Examples:

A middled aged man, handsome with a square jaw and stubble. They’re selling you a truck.

A late middle aged man, wears glasses, possibly male pattern baldness. They’re selling you financial services.

A middle aged man, handsome, no facial hair, a bit of a douche-bag smirk. They’re selling you a luxury sports sedan.

Young man, thin, hip eye wear and clothing. They’re selling you electronics.

Young man, t-shirt and jeans, kind of dumpy looking. They’re selling you junk food.

 

Other examples would be appreciated. 🙂

2 comments

  1. A young attractive woman wearing a large bulky sweater and looking extremely self-conscious and uncomfortable is trying to sell you…some sort of feminine cleanser.

Leave a Reply

