It’s Going to Take Longer Than I Thought.

As I’ve mentioned quite a lot over the past half dozen entries, I’ve started lifting again. The first time I was lifting was from the ages of 9 until about 10.5 when I was being taught Olympic lifts by a diminutive mailman who nonetheless was also a former world champion in his weight class. Gene Gilsdorf.

I was pretty good, I competed at nationals when I was 10 just before moving to Raleigh and I won silver, losing out to a crazy-fast kid from Trinidad.

Anyway, now I’m focusing on compounds lifts like squats, deadlifts, overhead press, and bench press. Mainly because no gyms I have access to have bumper plates, but someday I would like to try Olympic lifting again. Today I set a new personal best for deadlifts, 355 lbs. I felt pretty good about that, so after I got back I googled the phrase “355 lb deadlift” to see who else was celebrating the accomplishment. The first two videos to pop up were of a 17 year old girl and a 60 year old man. Looks like I’ve got a ways to go.

And it’s going to take longer than I thought, as for the moment my attempts to bulk up have been stymied. The two main foods suggested to eat in great quantities if you want to put on muscle mass are eggs and whole milk. Now eggs and I have never gotten along. I’ve  tried to force myself to like them, but everything about them grosses me out. The taste, any of their possible textures, the smell. They make me gag.

So that leaves whole milk. If you look up the term GOMAD online, you’ll find people who have put on a massive amount of muscle by drinking a Gallon Of Milk A Day coupled with compound barbell exercises. I wasn’t quite able to get that far, but I did manage a half gallon of whole milk a day for about a week. That’s an extra 1200 calories and 60 grams of protein a day in addition to 3 meals, so it should have worked like gangbusters.

Unfortunately for me, 5 days in I ran into a hitch. Turns out, milk can be a trigger for migraine headaches. I normally get one a year or so, but over days 5 and 6 I had two in a row. I dropped the milk intake completely, and away went the migraines. Bummer.

So it’s back to the drawing board. Or perhaps I’ll have to give up the dream of being a solid 175 lbs. In any case, I’m still making progress increasing my lifts, so that makes me happy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

