*brrr*

Now I know that many other parts of the country have way more to complain about weather wise than I do, however, a 60 degree temperature drop over 12 hours is crazy regardless of where you start temperature wise!

Yesterday evening it was about 75 degrees and sunny. This morning it was 15 degrees and freezing rain was falling. I blame Canada.

 

EDIT:

It being award season, I would like to thank the following people for helping to keep me warm today, both on my bike rides to campus, and walking around between windy asshole buildings.

Mom and Dad – for the thermal pajama pants I’m wearing under my jeans. Also for the very warm wool socks that I may have stolen from Dad over Christmas.

John & Nancy Skrla – for the Christmas gift card to Macy’s with which I bought a very nice and very warm pea coat.

Oma – for knitting me the scarf and hat which are awesome.

Miriah – for teaching me how a guy is supposed to wear a scarf. I saw a bunch of dudes today that were wearing their scarves like girls. Thanks to you, I was not one of them. Also, thanks for the leather driving gloves, those things are pretty much the only reason I can type this right now.

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Today I almost set a new deadlift personal record at 2.35 x my body weight. I was able to get it off the ground, but then couldn’t lock it out. 😦 Oh well, that bastard is coming with me next time.

Incidentally, over the weekend Amy said my hamstrings are huge now. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ That made me happier than a little school girl with huge hamstrings.

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Also somewhat fitness related, I think I’d like to sign up for this: http://toughmudder.com/

Last year I did the Warrior Dash. It was a similar race, though only about 1/3 the length and with much easier obstacles. I got the impression that it used to be a lot more difficult, but it’s been watered down to appeal to a wider range of people and is more “just for fun.” Which it was, it was a lot of fun. But I think I’d like to try something a bit more challenging.

There’s one in Virginia in October. πŸ™‚

3 comments

  1. I am not too thrilled about how chilly it got. I’m from south TX, so I really am unable to handle huge drops in temperature like this. My inability to cope with the temperature change was evident this morning when I refused to get out of bed and go to class. :/

  2. So, that’s where the missing pair of socks went to, or with, or something. Yes, 60 degree plunges in temperatures can really send the body wacko; many moons ago, whilst a lad in Kansas, I was a gas pump jockey. On this particular Sunday afternoon the temp was 109 degrees in the shade…who knows what on the drive…Monday morning an Arctic blast came and the temp was 50 degrees for a high. I was not well.

  3. i am now literally sick of snow. Not sure if it made me sick, but I feel like blaming it. Glad you know how to wear a scarf like a man. Of course with those hamstrings of yours, you could wear it any damn way you please. Love you.

Leave a Reply

