Last Friday I deadlifted 400 lbs, my first 400 lb lift. It felt awesome.

Additionally, just out of curiosity, I looked into what sort of weight I’d need to be at to be a competitive Olympic lifter. That was not so awesome. The ideal Olympic weightlifting body tends to be a good deal shorter and heavier set than the average person. Meaning that lifters of my height, 5′ 11″ or so, actually tend to be the unrestricted super heavyweights. Their body weights start at about 230 lbs, but go up to 300+ lbs.

I was recently very happy to reach 170 lbs after years of bouncing around 145 – 150. I don’t think I could conceivably gain another 60 lbs. Oh well, my Olympic dreams will have to be put aside. šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

